If you have set up a post-course feedback survey to ask learners about the perceived impact of your learning offer, you want to remind them to come back to the course and participate in the survey sometime after they have completed the course.
With the re-engagement activity, you can make sure that the learners who have completed the course receive a notification to give feedback. Both activities – post-course feedback and reengagement – should be part of the certificate tile and will only be available to learners after the scheduled reminder has been sent out.
Reengagement settings for post-course reminders
Ideally, you just use the questionnaire, feedback and reengagement activities provided in your course template.
In this case, you only need to update the following in your pre-existing reengagement activity:
Under “Re-engagement details”, please make sure the notification is sent “After delay” (setting: "notify user" = "after delay"). The delay period should be set to the time after course completion when you want the reminder to be sent to the participants, e.g. select "12 weeks" if learners should receive the reminder 3 months after completing the course (setting: "notification delay" = "[X] weeks").
The time of delay should be coordinated with your indicators or – if you don’t have any – should not be sent right after a user has completed the course.
Suppress notification if target activity complete should be ticked as shown in the screenshot below and you should select your corresponding feedback activity.
Under "restrict access", select “Learner must match the following" > Course completed – Yes”.
Leave any other settings and the content of the message as is.
In the completion settings, it is recommended to set the duration to the same timeframe as the “after delay” period (“reengagement duration" = notification delay). That way the learners won’t be able to access the feedback survey before receiving the reminder. This will also allow them to have sufficient time to measure the impact of what they have learnt.
The re-engagement activity is always invisible to learners on course page and will be automatically marked as completed once the configured "duration" time has passed.
Adding re-engagement from scratch
If you are not working in a copy of your course template but still want to add a post-course survey and a reengagement reminder, please follow the steps below to set up the latter.
Like any other activity, re-engagement can be added to a course by turning the editing mode on and clicking on the “+” sign in the according section to add a new activity to the course.
In the activity, you need to define the message to be sent to users (please use the text given in your template course), the time after which the notification should be sent and the condition under which it is being sent.
Re-engagement details
Under “Re-engagement details”, please make sure the notification is sent “After delay” (setting: “Notify user” = “after delay”). The delay period should be set to the time after course completion when you want the reminder to be sent to the participants, e.g. select “3 months” if learners should receive the reminder 3 months after completing the course (setting: “notification delay” = “[X] weeks”.) The time of delay should be coordinated with your indicators or – if you don’t have any – should not be sent right after a user has completed the course.
Reminder count would be 1, so that learners receive one reminder after the time is up.
The notification subject is the subject of the email that learners will receive, and the notification content is the email text.
In the text, placeholders such as %coursefullname% (enters the name of the course automatically) and https://online.atingi.org/course/view.php?id=%courseid% (enters the link to the course) should be used.
Please always use or copy the template provided in your own template course for this notification, otherwise images won’t be displayed correctly.
Subject:
Your feedback for atingi!
Content:
Congratulations on completing the course %coursefullname% on atingi!
Please take a moment to complete the anonymous survey about your experience with %coursefullname%:
Or use this link: https://online.atingi.org/course/view.php?id=%courseid% (Please note that you need to log in first to access the survey)
We would love to hear how the course has impacted your personal growth and how we could improve our course offers.
Thank you for helping us making our courses even more valuable!
You are receiving this email because your email is registered on the digital learning platform atingi. atingi offers courses and certificates free of charge that help you boost your competencies and your career. The atingi platform is implemented by GIZ GmbH. If you don't want to receive this or similar notifications from atingi, please reach out to our support team via help@atingi.org.
Please note: It is not possible to add other images or replace the images in the template because they need to be linked to a publicly available source to show up in the learners’ email.
If you don’t use the template to create your course, we would advise you to go into the HMTL of the re-engagement activity in your template course (which can be found in your category) and copy the HTML code to your new re-engagement activity:
To find the HTML, click on "View" in the text editor and then on "Source code".
Suppress notification if target activity complete should be ticked as shown in the screenshot below and you should select the according feedback activity.
Access restriction and activity completion settings
You can leave the third-party notification empty and leave “common module settings” as they are.
Now you need to restrict access to the activity to make sure that the reminder is only sent out after the course has been completed and after the desired notification delay period. To do so, choose “Learner must match the following: Course completed – Yes” in the access restriction settings. Please remember to set up course completion before.
In the activity completion settings, it is recommended to set the duration to the same timeframe as the “after delay” period (“reengagement duration = notification delay).
That way the learners won’t be able to access the feedback survey before receiving the reminder. This will also allow them to have sufficient time to measure the impact of what they have learnt.
The re-engagement activity is always invisible to learners on course page and will be automatically marked as completed once the configured "duration" time has passed/ once they have received their reminder.
Now you can click save and display.
After you have set up and saved the re-engagement activity once, no changes to the notification delay can be made. Please keep this in mind.